Skip to main content

Now Accepting Applications for the 12th Annual Roaster of the Year

roaster of the year competition

Developed to recognize and inspire excellence in roasting, the Roast Magazine Roaster of the Year competition is now in its 12th year, with applications accepted until July 31, 2015.

Find the Application Here

After Counter Culture Coffee won the inaugural award in 2005, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters followed in 2006, the award was broken in to two categories (macro roaster and micro roaster), resulting in two annual winners.

The award is meticulously chosen based on the following criteria:

• Company Mission
• Company’s Commitment to Sustainable Practices
• Commitment to Employees and Educational Practices
• Quality of Coffee
• Commitment to and involvement in the industry
• Innovations in roasting, marketing and business practices

The Roaster of the Year Award package includes:

• A full-length feature story in the November/December 2015 issue of Roast
• $500
• A web page on the Roast magazine website for an entire year

Past Roaster of the Year Winners

2005 winner—Counter Culture Coffee
2005 runnerup—Taylor Maid Farms

2006 winner—Stumptown Coffee Roasters
2006 runnerup—Intelligentsia Coffee and Tea
2006 runnerup—Dillanos Coffee Roasters

2007 winner—Micro—Metropolis Coffee Co.
2007 winner—Macro—Intelligentsia

2008 winner—Micro—Higher Ground Roasters
2008 winner—Macro—Zoka Coffee Roasters

2009 winner—Micro—Coffee Klatch
2009 winner—Macro—PT’s Coffee Roasting Co.

2010 winner—Micro—Kickapoo Coffee
2010 winner—Macro—Equator Estates Coffee

2011 winner—Micro—Conscious Coffees
2011 winner—Macro—Dillanos Coffee Roasters

2012 winner—Micro—Bird Rock Coffee Roasters
2012 winner—Macro—Portland Coffee Roasting

2013 winner—Micro—Olympia Coffee Roasting Company
2013 winner—Macro–Gimme! Coffee

2014 winner—Micro—Pilot Coffee Roasters
2014 winner—Macro—Coda Coffee Company

2015 winner—Micro—Portola Coffee Lab
2015 winner—Macro—Reunion Island Coffee Roasters

For the application and fine print, visit the award homepage.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *