Skip to main content

Deadline Approaching for the 13th Annual Roaster of the Year Competition

roaster of the year

The submissions deadline for the Roast magazine 2017 Roaster of the Year competition — honoring leading coffee roasting companies from throughout North America for the past 13 years — is July 29, 2016.

The award is presented in two categories: Micro Roaster of the Year (less than 100,000 pounds per year ), and Large Roaster of the Year (more than 100,000 pounds). Click here for applications for both categories.

About the Award

Roast magazine developed this award to help inspire further excellence and success in the roasting industry. The Roaster of the Year will be chosen based on the following criteria:

  • Company Mission
  • Company’s Commitment to Sustainable Practices
  • Commitment to Employees and Educational Practices
  • Quality of Coffee
  • Commitment to and involvement in the industry
  • Innovations in roasting, marketing and business practices

The Roaster of the Year award package includes:

  • A full-length feature story in the November | December 2016 issue of Roast magazine
  • $500
  • A web page on the Roast magazine website for an entire year

Past Roaster of the Year Winners

2005 winner—Counter Culture Coffee
2005 runnerup—Taylor Maid Farms

2006 winner—Stumptown Coffee Roasters
2006 runnerup—Intelligentsia Coffee and Tea
2006 runnerup—Dillanos Coffee Roasters

2007 winner—Micro—Metropolis Coffee Co.
2007 winner—Macro—Intelligentsia

2008 winner—Micro—Higher Ground Roasters
2008 winner—Macro—Zoka Coffee Roasters

2009 winner—Micro—Coffee Klatch
2009 winner—Macro—PT’s Coffee Roasting Co.

2010 winner—Micro—Kickapoo Coffee
2010 winner—Macro—Equator Estates Coffee

2011 winner—Micro—Conscious Coffees
2011 winner—Macro—Dillanos Coffee Roasters

2012 winner—Micro—Bird Rock Coffee Roasters
2012 winner—Macro—Portland Coffee Roasting

2013 winner—Micro—Olympia Coffee Roasting Company
2013 winner—Macro–Gimme! Coffee

2014 winner—Micro—Pilot Coffee Roasters
2014 winner—Macro—Coda Coffee Company

2015 winner—Micro—Portola Coffee Lab
2015 winner—Macro—Reunion Island Coffee Roasters


1 Comment

Carl Militz

Coroco coffee roaster in Sycamore,Illinois. is the best coffee, in my 50 years of tasting coffee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *