Skip to main content

Winners Announced for 2nd Annual Australian International Coffee Awards

Champion Australian and International roasters (1)

The results of the Australian International Coffee Awards were released yesterday, with predictably heavy representation from Victoria. In its second year, AICA saw a more than 30 percent increase in entries to more than 800, eventually doling out 170 medals roasters in Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Hong Kong and Japan.

(more: Fairtrade International Introducing Awards Program for Producers and Buyers)

The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria, which formerly ran the coffee competition at the Royal Melbourne Fine Food Awards, describes the event as a kind of roaster-focused lead-up to the Melbourne International Coffee Expo, which is happening now.

“The RASV is proud to give coffee roasters a unique and exciting platform to showcase and benchmark their products against the highest international standards,” RASV CEO Mark O’Sullivan said in a statement yesterday.

(more: The Good Food Awards: How it Works, How to Win, and Coffee ‘Elitism’)

This year’s top overall roasters were Aroma Coffee Roastery of New South Wales in the Australia category, and Toasted Espresso of Auckland, New Zealand, in the International gold medal. Here’s a rundown of all the big winners:

Champion Australian Roaster

Aroma Coffee Roastery, New South Wales

Champion International Roaster

Toasted Espresso, Auckland

Espresso Trophy winner

Danes Gourmet Coffee, New South Wales

Milk-based trophy winner

Reverence Coffee Roasters, Victoria, Australia

Filter Trophy winner

Aroma Coffee Roastery, New South Wales

Other Gold Medal Espresso winners were: Aroma Coffee Roastery (South Wales), Espresso Syndicate (Victoria), Rush Coffee (New Zealand), Pine Tea & Coffee (New South Wales), Coffee Cartel (Victoria), Coffex Coffee (Victoria), Clark St Roasters (Victoria)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *